Oakwood

The land where the homestead ‘Oakwood’ stands today, was originally granted to John Ingle who arrived in V.D.L on board the ‘Calcutta’ in 1804 with Collins. He married Rebecca Hobbs in Hobart in July 1804. But in 1818 the family returned to England. He was under contract to the Crown to purchase the land, and in 1819 he transferred his contract to William Kimberley and Thomas Yardley Lowes, who took over the repayments. They received their titles, or ‘grants’ sometime after the property was surveyed in February 1843. In the census of 1842 a stone dwelling had been built.

In 1842 William Kimberley sold 508 acres including his private residence and outhouses to his brother-in-law, Michael Lackey for 3,700 pounds. It is not known exactly when Edward Tooth leased the property, but he was certainly there pre 1852. Oakwood was called ‘Cornucopia’ during the time that Dr Charles Monteiro D’Almeida Lempriere and his wife Maria lived there. It is thought that they were responsible for the planting of more than 60 oak trees in the grounds. In 1861 William Dove purchased Oakwood for 3,250 pounds. Sometime before 1874 the Oakwood estate had been increased to 1,100 acres and was leased to William Webb. Between 1874 – 1880 the Becker family were living there. By 1887 the size of the property had decreased to 580 acres and was leased to John Porter. Corrugated iron replaced the original shingle roof in 1912 and except for two dovecotes, towers and part of a wall, the stables and barn were destroyed in the 1967 bushfires. Derek Smith and his wife Lyn purchased the property in 1983 and undertook major restoration work.

Renoun sculptor Folko Kooper and Maureen Craig purchased the property in 2002, and have established their design and sculpture business there. The gardens are being developed to showcase their unique range of garden sculpture. Utilising the mediums of sandstone, steel, glass, bronze and rust the pair create birdbaths, fountains and sculptural forms that are sold Australia wide and overseas.